Of Emotions and Superstitions

Yesterday was Jessica Chastain’s birthday. I took that as a sign. I didn’t think bad things could happen. I believed they’d win. Every time it looked like it was slipping, I forced myself to remember that it was her birthday and that things would end alright.

I am a man of superstitions when it comes to rooting for my favorites. I believe I can influence the outcome by what I do or don’t. I have a routine for Djokovic and I have a routine for the Proteas. The routine for the Proteas is pretty simple. Unlike the one for Djokovic, it can be carried out anywhere. It simply involves being optimistic about their chances. I started off well yesterday but then bludered by first complaining during the rain-break and then by downplaying their chances over a phone call with 5 overs to go. Who knows what would have happened had I kept the faith and been stronger. AB and the boys could well have been having the times of their lives right now. I should apologize for their pain. (PS: Don’t be alarmed, this is an intro to “How Superstitions Work 101.”)

There won’t be an expert analysis or a postmortem report. I won’t scrutinize their decisions or remark upon their follies. I will not speak about the weather or construct a historical narrative. I shall not criticize. I shall try to be warm. This is a new thing for me. So you know, I am going to have to crawl before I am able to walk.

That post on the other blog stemmed out of a dark place, from the need/weakness to be right. I am ashamed of those posts. When you take your child to a track event, you don’t gather all the other parents around and start telling them about the weaknesses you’ve noticed in your child and explain why you think he/she won’t come first. You just support them. And be ridiculously proud of them irrespective of the result. You don’t criticize your child’s efforts. You pat them on the back and take them out for ice-cream.

I was the biggest ass this side of Kim Kardashian when I made a list of all their weaknesses and published it to show off my knowledge of them. Of course I know them, they’re my children. The parent-child analogy has gone too far? (Ego says mention that you mentioned Grant Eliot in that post.)

AB said something to the effect of “this wasn’t for us but for the fans back home. Wish they’re proud of us.” Well, duh. You mean more to us than the results. Who are we to criticize when you’re giving it all while we ourselves don’t even show the slightest bit of passion in our own pursuits? If anything, you’re our heroes, our inspiration. You make us want to be better versions of ourselves. We are just parents watching from the sidelines. You make us want to cry with pride.

About AB: the way he chose to bring himself on in a semifinal, the way he was willing to put himself out there on the biggest stage and put his hand up to do something he isn’t very adept at, while we spend our days shying away from much lesser challenges- Oh my god! He’s the best of us, and not just at batting.

Couldn’t think of a better way to end this Jessica Chastain themed post than with a Jessica Chastain themed quote: β€œWhat do we live for, if it is not to make life less difficult for each other?”

#ProteaFire

Author: rahul

I am a student . That's short and sour in itself.

4 thoughts on “Of Emotions and Superstitions”

  1. Very emotional and might well work for parent-children meetings in schools πŸ™‚

    Before the match I happen to see a fairy tale from your tweets: “SA wins against NZ in NZ in the semis and takes over Aus in Aus in the finals.”

    I saw the game ball-2-ball after a long time only for SA to win it. During the catch miss at the 14r of 7b scenario and couple of run outs, I was a bit irritated. I was sure that the first part of this fairy tale is likely to happen until the last six.

    After the six, I went out of the TV room and took a 1-2 min walk away from the crowd. I am convinced that the real story (15 WC semis) seemed much better than the fairy tale (and also the lose in 99 WC semis). So, I went back to read the post-match commentary on cricinfo.

    A cheeky observation: That quote was by George “Eliot” ! πŸ™‚

  2. Yeah.. we should be proud of the teams we support no matter what the result is.. they are there to play and we are here yo support.

    About the Indo Aussie match .. I had a bad feeling from the start as i removed my beard after the quarter finals.. i guess this halved India’s chances 😦 πŸ˜› #superstitionsWork

Leave a Reply

